How many cans and what size?

Hi! I am COMPLETELY new to pressure canning, gardening, everything! So I feel a bit overwhelmed. Next spring, my husband plans to plant a 200 square foot vegetable garden.We want to learn how to live off grid and are hoping to no longer depend on grocery shopping. We live in Washington state so probably can't grow food year round. So here's my question: How many cans (pint and quart size) should I buy to make it through the winter and spring? (One person suggested I buy 12 cases of each, so 288 jars total. Is that a good estimate?) I plan to can vegetables, beans, and meat, but no fruit.

And should I buy wide or regular size?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Answers

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin

Welcome to TGN's forum @sagelazar! You have found an excellent place to begin your off grid journey. You will get lots of help here.

Depends on what part of Washington State you are from as to how self sufficient you can be. Coastal areas should be able to grow somethings year round; cabbage family, some herbs, greens if you have a cold frame, other things in a green house. If you post in the Introductions section there might be others who live in your general area and can make suggestions for your particular growing area.

And there is our Front Porch Welcome to check out as well if you haven't already done so.

A good place to start is in the Academy. There is the Weekend Project - Water Bath Canning and the Weekend Project - Pressure Canning. Both have excellent advice and step by step instructions.

As to the number of jars and sizes. How many are you feeding? Just you and your husband? I like to have an assortment of sizes and mouth widths. Wide mouth jars are easier to pack pickles or long things in. Standard lids are often cheaper. Some of this will be explained in the courses.