Storage Tip for Kale, Spinach and Swiss Chard

dipat2005
dipat2005 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have been planting Kiss for several years now (Kale, Spinach and Swiss Chard).

Tip: Take a One Gallon (I use Freezer Bags) Plastic Bag-add as much greens as you can stuff into the bag-then over the top on both sides use paper toweling. The bag will sweat but my greens have stayed in pretty good shape for 1 month. Once in awhile I have to take out slimy leaves or leaves that are white.

How do you store your greens for longer than 2 weeks?

Tagged:

Comments

• kbmbillups1
    kbmbillups1 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭✭✭

I haven't had good luck storing any kind of greens for longer than a few days. If I'm buying them, I don't unless I'm going to cook them that day. If they're coming from my garden, I don't pick them unless I'm going to cook them or use them in a salad.

• Michelle D
    Michelle D Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭✭✭

My method is very similar to yours @dipat2005 I use a plastic or glass container with an airtight lid. I line the bottom with paper towels and cover the top with them also before putting on the lid.

• kbmbillups1
    kbmbillups1 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭✭✭

I read on here about wrapping celery in moist paper towels and then in aluminum foil to make it last a couple weeks. I tried it and it works great. Do you guys think that would work with greens as well? Some time I'll have to try it.

• vickeym
    vickeym Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have some of the Foodsaver canisters. I put my greens inside and vacuum seal them. They last for quite awhile this way and the canisters can be resealed after you open them and remove what you need.

• dipat2005

Good to know about the glass container @Michelle D and the Foodsaver canisters@vickeym. Great ideas! @kbmbillups1 I am sorry that you cannot store any greens.

• Megan Venturella
    Megan Venturella Posts: 678 ✭✭✭✭